For inquiries about GlobalPlatform or website assistance, contact

GlobalPlatform Star Awards

The Star Awards program was launched in 2004 as an opportunity for GlobalPlatform to recognize and award individuals who have demonstrated exemplary member participation throughout the year.

The awards celebrate individuals who have made a significant contribution toward GlobalPlatform’s vision of creating a fully collaborative and open ecosystem in which all stakeholders can efficiently deliver innovative digital services, while providing greater security, privacy, simplicity and convenience to users.

These individuals are enthusiastic and dedicated to driving GlobalPlatform’s work efforts, and the objectives of the Technical Committee or Task Force that they represented. Awards are presented for: Collaboration & teamwork, Innovative thinking, Making it happen, Leadership and Going the extra mile.

In 2019, the Kekicheff Award was created to acknowledge outstanding dedication and commitment to GlobalPlatform. Unlike the Star Awards that are given on an annual basis, this award is intended to be given from time-to-time to recognize extraordinary, impactful efforts over a long and sustained period of time. Named after the first recipient of the award, current GlobalPlatform Board member and former Chairman of the Board, Marc Kekicheff, this first award commemorates Mr. Kekicheff’s 20+ years of outstanding dedication and commitment to GlobalPlatform. Not only was Mr. Kekicheff co-architect of the original GlobalPlatform Specifications, but he has also held various leadership positions within the organization since its inception and continues to be active in driving the organization’s efforts.

Congratulations to our 2024 Winners!

Star Award recipients are announced and presented during GlobalPlatform's Annual All Member Meeting, held each November.

View past winners

Timeless Service and Dedication

Karl Eglof Hartel

G+D Mobile Security

Karl Eglof has helped define industry neutral specifications for the secure and interoperable deployment and management of multiple embedded applications of SE technology as Chair of our Secure Element Committee.

Timeless Service and Dedication

Don Felton


Don Felton has been an integral part of our TEE Specification Working Group, serving as its chair since 2011. His efforts helped improve the ability of Trusted Execution Environments to offer protection against attacks generated in the rest of the device and even other actors inside the TEE.

Kekicheff Award

Eikazu Niwano-San

NTT Corporation

Eikazu Niwano has been awarded the GlobalPlatform Kekicheff Award to recognize his outstanding dedication and commitment to GlobalPlatform. He has been a key part of our organization since 2005, serving on the GlobalPlatform Board of Directors and leading the Japan Task Force. This award recognizes his extraordinary, impactful efforts.

Receive the latest news from GlobalPlatform

Hey There!

It seems you are using an outdated browser, unfortunately this means that our website will not render properly for you. Update your browser to view this website correctly.